Unlike some MMJ programs across the country which are experiencing problems in terms of supply, licensing, and online registry platforms, medical marijuana in New Mexico has done surprisingly well since the program was signed into law back in 2007.
In fact, sales are expected to exceed $100 million by the end of 2018 – a figure that would have been incomprehensible just a few years ago. Moreover, patient enrollment is increasing at a similarly alarming rate, with over 60,000 patients expected to be approved with a valid MMJ card by the end of the year.
If you live in New Mexico and are in need for a medical marijuana card, then this comprehensive guide on how to apply for the program is for you.
As a Resident of New Mexico, The Process is As Follows:
Step 1 – Contact a physician
The first step to getting a medical marijuana card in the state of New Mexico is to obtain your medical records and get a signed physician’s statement from a doctor that is licensed to practice in the state.
If your GP does not approve of MMJ as a medicine, be advised that there are numerous clinics and doctor offices throughout the state that specialize in medical marijuana consultations.
Please note, however, that in order to get a medical marijuana card you MUST be a resident of the state. You will need to provide proof of residency, for example, a New Mexico I.D, passport or another photo I.D that declares residency (such as bank statement, utility bill, etc).
Step 2 – Register online and submit your application
Once you have met with a physician and obtained an official document stating you are a valid patient through one of the state’s qualifying conditions (see below for the full list of conditions), you must register online with the New Mexico Department of Health and submit your application in order to receive your registry identification card.
In most instances, the doctor’s office that schedules your initial consultation will take care of the entire registration/application process for you on the same day as your visit (be advised however that they do charge a fee in addition to the state-mandated application fee).
*For further information on downloading the application packet, meeting with a physician, submitting the application, etc, feel free to contact the New Mexico Department of Heath Medical Cannabis Program at:
Medical Cannabis Program
1190 Saint Francis Drive Suite S-3400
Santa Fe, NM 87505
What are the Costs Involved?
The New Mexico Patient Registry is one of the few in the country that is entirely free – the application can be accessed and completed by downloading the following form.
Those who wish to cultivate their own medical marijuana, however, must apply and submit a Medical Cannabis Personal Production Application, along with a copy of your New Mexico driver’s license or state identification card. The license application fee is $30.00, unless your annual income is less than 200% of the federal poverty guideline in which case it is free.
What are the Qualifying Conditions Required to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card?
The New Mexico medical marijuana program officially passed on March 13, 2007, when Senate Bill 523 – aka “The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act” – was approved by the House at a 36-31 margin and by the Senate 32-3. The law came into effective on July 01, 2007.
To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions:
- Severe chronic pain
- Painful peripheral neuropathy
- Intractable nausea/vomiting
- Severe anorexia/cachexia
- Hepatitis C infection currently receiving antiviral treatment
- Crohn’s disease
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Multiple sclerosis
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with intractable spasticity
- Hospice patients
- Inflammatory Autoimmune-mediated Arthritis
*For those applying for medical marijuana in New Mexico, please note that:
- If applying under Chronic Pain, the patient MUST have a second certification from a specialist
- If applying under PTSD, the patient MUST have medical records showing a psychiatrist’s diagnosis
- If applying under Glaucoma, the patient MUST have medical records showing an ophthalmologist’s diagnosis
- If applying under Inflammatory Autoimmune-Mediated Arthritis, the patient MUST have a certification from a Rheumatologist
Current New Mexico Laws for non-MMJ Cardholders
As of now, those found with marijuana without a valid MMJ card will be subject to incarceration and a maximum fine of up to $1,000, as long as the amount found during possession is under 8 oz. Those found with more than 8 oz. will be subject to serious jail time, felony criminal charges, and a fine of $5,000 or more.
As such, it is extremely important to apply for medical marijuana in New Mexico if you plan on using any form of cannabis for any condition. By enrolling and receiving approval by the state of New Mexico, you will be permitted:
- To possess “an adequate supply” of marijuana, which is defined as a maximum quantity of no more than 230 units (approximately eight ounces) over a three-month period.
- The right to purchase from a Licensed Non-Profit Producer (i.e. any one of the dozens of medical marijuana dispensaries in New Mexico)
- The right to obtain a Personal Production License (PPL), which grants you permission to grow a total of 12 Cannabis sativa seedlings, including male and female plants.
How to Renew Your Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico?
The process for renewing a medical marijuana card in New Mexico is similar to those applying for the first time. In order to renew your card, you are required to submit an application 60 days prior to the expiration of your old card. All cards are processed in the order they are received by the state.
Related Article: 3 Ways to Get a Medical Marijuana Card Online (in Minutes)
Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?
Public use of medical marijuana in New Mexico is not permitted under current legislation.
Furthermore, state legislation declares that an enrollee’s participation in the medical cannabis program does not relieve them from criminal prosecution for certain activities. These activities may include:
- Using any form of cannabis on a school bus
- Using any form of cannabis on school grounds or property
- Using any form of cannabis in the workplace of the qualified patient
- Using any form of cannabis at a public park, recreation center, youth center, or other public places
- Transferring or distributing any form of cannabis product to anybody not authorized under New Mexico MMJ legislation
- Transporting any form of cannabis outside New Mexico, or attempting to transfer a cannabis product outside state lines
- Possessing amounts of medical marijuana that exceed the allotted amount
Can I Consume Cannabis in My Car?
No. This would be considered a public place, and is be prohibited under 26-2B-5 (4).
Can I take My Meds to a Different State?
No. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
How Much Should I consume?
We are not doctors or physicians, and therefore you should always consult with a professional before using.
Should you have any other questions, feel free to contact us through our Facebook Page.
[Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of people who need the information by SHARING it].