Connecticut is one of the 29 states (plus D.C.) that allow marijuana for medicinal use. The state made the landmark decision to legalize weed for medicinal purposes, and Governor Dannel Molloy signed it into law (Senate Bill 1014) in June 2012. The state has also taken steps towards the decriminalizing of marijuana. In June 2011, a new law stated that being caught in possession of less than ½ ounce of weed was only punishable by a $150 fine.
Nonetheless, you have to tread carefully because there are still severe punishments for the illegal cultivation or distribution of cannabis as you can see in this table below:
What Are the Medical Marijuana Card Eligibility Criteria in Connecticut?
You are only eligible for an MMJ card in the state if you are a Connecticut resident and suffer from a debilitating medical condition such as:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Sickle Cell Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Any terminal illness where you require end of life (palliative) care
- Cerebral palsy
- Cystic fibrosis
If you need more information or want to learn about the full range of medical conditions for adults and minors please visit the official Connecticut State Website.
Need a Medical Marijuana Card? Let us help by Starting Here
How Do I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut?
It is possible to apply online, and it will be a much faster process if you have the requisite documents available in digital form. In this Medical Marijuana Card Connecticut guide we’ve layed out the process in 3 easy steps:
Step 1 – Make an Appointment with Your Doctor
You must discuss the issue with your physician because he/she is the only individual that can initiate your application. Your doctor can certify for the Department of Health that you have a legitimate medical condition that renders you eligible for a medical marijuana certificate. You must provide the following to your physician if they agree to certify you:
- A valid email address – It will be the main form of communication between you and the DOH so make sure it is a private address that no one else can access. For example, it is a BAD idea to use a work email.
- A primary telephone number – The most obvious choice is your cell phone number.
Step 2 – Create a DAS Business Network Account
This is essential as it enables you to access the online registration system based on the email address you provided to your doctor. Once you have logged into this account, you need to verify that the details entered by your physician are accurate. You will also need to answer a variety of verification questions.
Step 3 – I.D. & Payment
You will be asked to provide proof of identity and residency before you make payment. Here is a list of the documentation you must display:
- Proof of Identity: Examples include driver’s license, U.S. Passport, or Certificate of Naturalization.
- Proof of State Residence: You can prove you are a Connecticut resident by showing a document with your name and residence dated within the last 90 days. Accepted documents include a computer-generated bill from a utility company, a bank statement, or Medicare/Medicaid benefit statement.
- Passport Size Photograph: Should be taken no more than 30 days before the application.
At this stage, you will also be required to pay a $100 registration fee. All money orders/checks should be made out to “Treasurer, State of CT.”
What About Primary Caregivers for Medical Marijuana Cards in Connecticut?
If your physician’s certification outlines your need for a primary caregiver, there is an additional step. It is crucial that you register your primary caregiver because the DOH will not give you a registration certificate otherwise. First of all, you must identify the person in question as your primary caregiver on the application form.
Then, they have to provide a valid email address and a primary telephone number before creating a DAS Business Network Account. The next step is to answer a series of questions and submit I.D and a passport size photo. Finally, they have to pay a $25 registration fee.
For patients and primary caregivers, please use the following address when mailing documents:
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection,
Medical Marijuana Program,
165 Capitol Ave,
What Happens When I Am Approved For a MMJ Card in Connecticut?
The application normally takes around 30 days to process. Once you’re approved, the DOH will send you a temporary certificate via email which allows you to purchase marijuana from the official dispensary of your choice.
Renewing Your Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card
All certificates issued in the state of Connecticut last for exactly one year from the date of certification. This is an important distinction because the clock starts ticking from that moment even if you don’t apply for the card for a few weeks.
You and your physician can use the DAS network to start the renewal process weeks in advance.
Your physician must:
- Confirm that you are still under his/her care
- Provide the date of examination for re-certification
- Confirm there is still a bona-fine doctor/patient relationship in place.
- Complete the trio of certifications at the end of the form.
- Show proof you still live in the state of Connecticut
- Complete five certifications at the end of the form
- Provide an updated photo
- Pay another $100 registration fee
- Update any information that has changed in the last year
Your primary caregiver must also provide an updated photo, complete the five certifications at the end of the application and pay another $25.
Additional Information About Medical Marijuana in Connecticut
Although marijuana is legal for medicinal purposes in Connecticut, there are a few things you must be aware of:
- The maximum you can buy is 2.5 ounces a month unless your doctor recommends a lower amount.
- You are not allowed use it in any moving vehicle, a bus or school bus, in the workplace, any school grounds, any university/college property (including dormitories) or in the presence of anyone under the age of 18.
- Marijuana cannot be given for palliative care if it endangers the health of anyone other than the patient or primary caregiver.
Need a Medical Marijuana Card? Let us help by Starting Here
Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of other people who need the information by SHARING it.