Florida has been in the spotlight the last couple of weeks as the state is finally moving towards a medical marijuana approach, that was initially voted back in 2016. The amendment will allow patients with a debilitating medical condition to purchase medical weed with normal levels of THC instead of the current Low-THC cannabis determined by the state.
While the exact framework of the program is yet to be released, we’ve created this comprehensive guide that explains the current process. If you live in Florida and are in need for a Florida marijuana license (MMJ Card), then this comprehensive guide is for you.
Here’s the Complete on How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
As a resident of the state, the process on how to get a medical marijuana card in Florida is a follows:
1. The first step to getting a Florida medical marijuana card is to obtain your medical records and get a signed physician’s statement from a doctor. That doctor has to have a medical marijuana license in Florida. Additionally, you must be a patient of the ordering doctor for at least 3 months prior to the diagnosis.
Please note, to get a medical cannabis card in Florida you MUST be a resident of the state. You will need to provide proof of residency, for example, a Florida I.D, passport or another photo I.D. If you are from another state it is possible to get a Florida medical card, but it is decided on a case by case basis, by Florida’s Department of Health
2. Once you have your document from a certified physician, you must register with the Department of Health. The exact process is underway and will be released once the Florida Medical Marijuana Program has been fully implemented by the DOH.
- Applications can be submitted by your doctor, or you can submit them on your own behalf.
- You must be registered with the Compassionate Use Registry by their ordering physician.
What are the Florida Medical Cannabis Card Costs?
Patients must be entered into the Compassionate Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive an MMJ card.
All applications must include a full-face, passport-type color photograph taken within 90 days and a registration fee of $75 is charged.
More information on the application process can be found here: http://www.floridahealth.gov/OCU
What are Conditions Required to Receive Medical Marijuana in Florida?
Patients in Florida diagnosed with one of the following “debilitating medical conditions”, are afforded legal protection under the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, as per Amendment 2:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic muscle spasms
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- or any other ailment/condition of the same severity/symptoms, when determined by a physician’s opinion that the medical use of marijuana would surpass any potential health risks
Other Important Information on the Florida Medical Marijuana License Process
My Florida Medical Marijuana Card has Expired. How Do I Get a Renewal?
To maintain an active Compassionate Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.
Can I take My Meds to a Different State?
No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in Florida only.
Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Who Can Use Medical Marijuana?
Florida law has several requirements for patients to be eligible to receive low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis.
- A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition as stated above
- A patient must be a Florida resident.
- If under the age of 18, a patient must have a second physician agree to the use of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis in order to obtain an order from a qualified physician.
- A patient must have tried other treatments without success.
- An ordering physician must determine the risks of using low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis are reasonable in light of the benefit to the patient.
- A patient must be registered with the Compassionate Use Registry by their ordering physician.
Related Article: 3 Ways to Get a Medical Marijuana Card Online (in Minutes)
Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?
Similar to all states Florida medical cannabis card holders have to be responsible. It is important to remember that when smoking in public, it may be assumed that you are using it for recreational use, which is illegal on a Federal Level. Florida medical marijuana card holders are advised to consume their medicine responsibly, in the safety of their home or in a private residence.
How Much Should I consume?
We are not doctors or physicians, and therefore you should always consult with a Florida marijuana licensed physician before using.
If you have any other questions, feel free to view our Florida FAQ Page or contact us through our Facebook.
Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of people who need a medical marijuana card in Florida by SHARING it.